Get Your FREE Subscription to HQ Magazine!

No more jail time for marijuana use in New Hampshire

New Hampshire coastline

In September, New Hampshire became the 22nd state in the U.S. to eliminate the possibility of spending time behind bars for possessing small amounts of marijuana.

Under the new law, people caught possessing up to three-quarters of an ounce of marijuana will receive a $100 fine for their first or second offenses. The punishment rises to a $300 fine for a third offense within a three-year period. If police find someone possessing small amounts of marijuana a fourth time in that window, they could be charged with a class B misdemeanor.

A poll released in May found that 68% of adults in the state support cannabis legalization.